Breaking odisha Sports

Ultimate Kho Kho Season 2 Players Unveils Thrilling Lineup for Franchise-based League

Bullet Points:

  1. Six franchises invested ₹3.9 crore to select 145 players for Ultimate Kho Kho Season 2.
  2. Rising stars shine as 33 players in the age range of 16 to 18 are drafted into the league.
  3. Mumbai Khiladis secure 16-year-old Sunil Patra, while Puducherry and Maharashtra produce talented 17-year-olds for Chennai Quick Guns and Rajasthan Warriors.
  4. Season 2 of Ultimate Kho Kho promises a faster, stronger, and bolder visual spectacle with an average age of 22.5 years among the drafted players.
  5. Odisha Juggernauts, the defending champions, strike a balance between youth and experience in their strong squad selection.

Bhubaneshwar, November 22, 2023 – The stage is set for an exhilarating Season 2 of the Ultimate Kho Kho (UKK) league as six franchises recently conducted the Players Draft in Bhubaneshwar. With a whopping ₹3.9 crore spent, these franchises carefully selected 145 players, including a remarkable 33 young talents aged between 16 to 18 years.

In an effort to infuse more energy and speed into their squads, teams made some intriguing choices, placing a strong emphasis on providing opportunities to promising young players. Mumbai Khiladis seized the chance to secure the services of the 16-year-old prodigy Sunil Patra from Odisha, while Chennai Quick Guns and Rajasthan Warriors snapped up 17-year-olds M Mugilan from Puducherry and Ganesh Borkar from Maharashtra, respectively.

The upcoming Season 2 is poised to captivate young Indian fans, with 33 players falling within the 16 to 18-year-old age range. Commenting on this exciting development, Tenzing Niyogi, the CEO and League Commissioner of Ultimate Kho Kho, stated, “Season 2 will resonate with young Indian fans. Out of a total player pool of 272, the franchises drafted 145 players. What makes it even more special is the inclusion of 33 young talents. With an average age of 22.5 years, Season 2 promises to be a faster, stronger, and bolder visual spectacle for fans across the nation.”

Ultimate Kho Kho, promoted by Amit Burman in collaboration with the Kho Kho Federation of India (KKFI), remains steadfast in its mission to transform the growth of this indigenous sport by injecting it with greater dynamism and engagement.

As defending champions, the Odisha Juggernauts have skillfully curated a well-rounded squad, striking a perfect balance between youth and experience. Lilan Prasad Sahu, OSD of the Department of Sports and Youth Affairs, expressed his confidence in the team’s ability to defend the title, saying, “Last year, as defending champions, we had an exceptional team, so we have retained our core players. Kho Kho is a highly technical game, and we entrusted the responsibility to our coaches, engaging in thorough discussions with them. We conducted extensive research and assembled a formidable team. We have included several new and upcoming players from Odisha as well. We anticipate a successful defense of our title.”

The Players Draft saw the retained players being offered ₹6 lakhs each, while the franchises filled their remaining slots by selecting players from four distinct categories—A (₹5 lakhs), B (₹3 lakh), C (₹1.5 lakh), and D (₹1 lakh). Gujarat Giants and Rajasthan Warriors completed their squads by drafting 25 and 22 players, respectively.

A total of 290 players from 18 states were registered for the Season 2 Players Draft, an impressive testament to the growing popularity of this franchise-based Kho Kho league. The highly anticipated Season 2 matches will be broadcast live on Sony Pictures Networks India (SPNI)’s sports channels, as well as livestreamed on Sony LIV.

Get ready for a thrilling spectacle as Season 2 unfolds, showcasing the captivating action of India’s first-ever franchise-based Kho Kho league!

Complete Squads:

Odisha Juggernauts: Dilip Khandvi (Retained), Dipesh More (Retained), Gowtham MK (Retained), Vishal (Retained), Omkar Sonawane, Rohan Shingade, Akshay Masal, Mahesha P, Manoj Patil, Avinash Desai, Manoj Kumar, Visag S, Debendra Nath, Nikhil Kumar, Vishal Oram, Sanjay Kumar V, Deepak Kumar Sahoo, Nikhil B, MD Mirajul, Sushant Kaldhone, Sobhag V Sriganda, Niranjan Samal, Savir Ahmad, Suresh Kumar and Siddheswar Tudu.

Telugu Yoddhas: Arun Gunki (Retained), Avdhut Patil (Retained), Pratik Waikar (Retained), Adhithya Ganpule, Rahul Mandal, Nikhil Waghe, Milind Chavrekar, Akash Togare, Kiran Vasave, Dhruv, Prasad Radye, Rudra Thopate, Prem Randive, Vaibhav Nippane, Sourabh Adavkar, Vijaybhai Vegad, Anukul Sarkar, M Phani Kumar, Mahamad Ujer Harun Momin, Matlum, Lipun Mukhi, Arjun Bishukarma, Prasad Patil, Bojjam Ranjith and Rajat Malik.

Chennai Quick Guns: Amit Patil (Retained), Madan (Retained), Ramji Kashyap (Retained), Laxman Gawas, Adarsh Mohite, Sachin Bhargo, Zora Suraj, Suraj Lande, Aditya Kudale, Durvesh Salunke, Chandu Chavre, Akash Kadam, Narendra Katkate, Mustafa Bagwan, Arjun Singh, Vijay Shinde, Ashish Patel, M Mugilan, Akash Balyan, Sumon Barman, Pavan Kumar and Giri S.

Rajasthan Warriors: Akshay Ganpule (Retained), Dilrajsing Sengar (Retained), Majahar Jamadar (Retained), Vijay Hajare, Jaggannath Das, Rushab Wagh, Nilesh Patil, Prajwal K H, Brahmane Vivek, Ranjan Shetty, Rejeti Surinaidu, Sourabh Gadge, Nandan D, Ganesh Borkar, Bika Chetan, Buchannagari Raju, Dhanraj P, Jagannath Murmu, Aditya Shelke, Mukesh Prajapat, Vaibhav More and Aditya KN.

Gujarat Giants: Abhinandan Patil (Retained), Akshay Bhangare (Retained), Suyash Gargate (Retained), Nilesh Jadhav, P Narasayya, Faizankha Pathan, Rajvardhan Patil, V Subramani, Deepak Madhav, Shubham Thorat, Gavara Venkatesh, Sanket Kadam, Kondhalkar Rupesh, Bharat Kumar, Pabani Sabar, Vinayak Pokarde, Ram Mohan, V Kabilan, Arnav Patankar, Alfaj H Nadaf, Vasave Ravi, Abhijit Patil, Saleem Khan, Vijesh Kumar and Harish Mohmmad.

Mumbai Khiladis: Gajanan Shengal (Retained), Sreejesh S (Retained), Mahesh Shinde, Aniket Pote, Subhasis Santra, Hrushikesh Murchavade, Rokeson Singh, P Siva Reddy, Govind Yadav, Avik Singha, Milind Kurpe, Sunil Patra, Sudheer Kumar, MD Aiman Pasha, Sagar Potdar, Rohan Kore, Komal, Pawar Sachin, Dhiraj Bhave, Debasis, Shiva, Ajay Kashyap, Pritam Chougule, Sibin M, Abhishek Pathrode and Parmar Rahul.

Nidhi Pandeya

Nidhi Pandeya

About Author

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

General odisha

“Naveen Patnaik Fires Back at Opposition with Bold Stance on Odisha’s Development Journey”

Bhubaneswar, Oct 2 – In a scathing critique of the opposition, BJD Supremo Naveen Patnaik unleashed a blistering attack, accusing

Watch Video: Nepal’s Terrifying Earthquakes Leave Delhi-NCR in Shambles

"National Center for Seismology Records Quakes of 6.2 and 4.2 Magnitude in Nepal, Sending Shockwaves Across the Region"